Ask Brigid vs Carebit · for Irish consultants
Carebit alternative for Irish consultants
Carebit is a London-based practice management platform, priced in pounds, with a Healthcode integration for billing insurers. Ask Brigid is an Irish product, billed in euro, that doesn't touch Healthcode at all — said plainly, before the table, so a UK reader doesn't waste time on the rest of this page.
Facts about Carebit checked 23 September 2026Primary records in AWS Dublin (eu-west-1)From €129/month + VAT, every seat included
Built for one country: Irish private practice, billed in euro, hosted in AWS Dublin (eu-west-1). Consult dictation comes included, and push-to-talk dictation on Professional, alongside the diary, the record and billing, for one flat monthly price.
Wrong country, wrong currency — said before you scroll further
Most “X vs Y” pages try to win the reader over. This one won't, for most people who land here from a Carebit search. Carebit is a London-based system, priced in pounds sterling, with a Healthcode integration for billing insurers — and Healthcode describes its own role as supporting “the UK’s clearing service.” Ask Brigid doesn't connect to Healthcode, doesn't bill in GBP, and isn't built for the UK. If that's what you need, the honest answer is to stay with Carebit.
When this comparison actually matters
If you're an Irish private consultant — billing VHI, Laya, Irish Life or Level Health, in euro — Carebit's headline billing feature is its Healthcode integration, and Healthcode describes its own role as supporting the UK’s clearing service. That's the case where comparing on hosting, dictation, pricing and what the diary and record actually do is the useful question, and the table below answers it.
Dictation, if you do compare
In Ask Brigid, recording and transcript come on both plans, in the record itself, and on Professional, dictation works in every field of the practice system, not only in a note. Carebit also records and transcribes, through its Cari feature, and says a recorded consultation can be converted into a patient note or letter rather than left as a plain transcript. Its phone app records dictations on the go.
Who should stay with Carebit
A UK consultant or specialist who bills private insurers through Healthcode, in pounds sterling, should stay with Carebit. Ask Brigid does not operate in the UK, does not integrate with Healthcode, and is priced and built for Irish practice.
Ask Brigid is built for Irish private consultants. See the full pricing breakdown.
Sources
- Carebit — carebit.co (checked 23 Sep 2026)
- Carebit, pricing — carebit.co/pricing (checked 23 Sep 2026)
- Carebit, security — carebit.co/security (checked 23 Sep 2026)
- Carebit, privacy policy (hosting) — carebit.co/privacy-policy (checked 23 Sep 2026)
- Healthcode — healthcode.co.uk (checked 23 Sep 2026)
Side by side
What each one is, in their words and ours.
Every Carebit fact names the page it came from and the day it was read.
| Capability | Ask Brigid | Carebit |
|---|---|---|
| Country and currency Carebit Health Ltd is registered in the UK (company number 09715186), lists a London address, and describes its support as “UK-based with knowledge of the local market.” Its prices are in pounds, plus VAT. (carebit.co and carebit.co/pricing, checked 23 Sep 2026) | Ireland, billed in EUR (€) | UK, billed in GBP (£) + VAT |
| Where patient data is hosted Carebit says it is “powered by Amazon Web Services” and that its infrastructure “is hosted in secure UK data centres operated by trusted cloud providers.” It also lists Cyber Essentials Plus and security audits twice a year by two independent firms. (carebit.co/security and carebit.co/privacy-policy, checked 23 Sep 2026) | AWS Dublin (eu-west-1) | UK data centres (Amazon Web Services) |
| Insurer e-billing via Healthcode Carebit lists “Healthcode integration for insurance billing. One-click claims,” with CCSD lookup, policy number search and remittance import, and says it “processes over £200 million a year for thousands of customers.” Healthcode describes its own role as supporting “the UK’s clearing service.” Ask Brigid does not connect to Healthcode. (carebit.co and healthcode.co.uk, checked 23 Sep 2026) | No | Healthcode integration, one-click claims |
| Who it’s built for Carebit says “From solo practitioners to large clinics & hospitals, thousands of leading healthcare professionals and support teams use Carebit,” and that it works with “clinicians, support staff and hospital groups.” (carebit.co, checked 23 Sep 2026) | Irish private consultants | Solo practitioners to clinics and hospitals |
| Recording and transcribing the consultation In Ask Brigid, recording and transcript come on both plans, in the record itself; the clinician signs every note. Carebit says you can “record the consultation with Cari and then convert it into a patient note or letter for sending.” Cari use is metered by plan: 20 credits a month on Starter, 200 on Core, unlimited on Pro. (carebit.co and carebit.co/pricing, checked 23 Sep 2026) | Included | Yes — Cari can also turn it into a note or letter |
| Push-to-talk dictation into any field On Professional, dictation works in every field of the practice system, not only in a note. Carebit’s phone app records dictations for upload; dictation into any field is not stated. (carebit.co, checked 23 Sep 2026) | On Professional | Not publicly stated |
| Online booking and intake forms Both take bookings online and collect intake forms digitally. Carebit’s Patient Portal, included on every plan, also lets patients pay and view their letters and results. (carebit.co and carebit.co/pricing, checked 23 Sep 2026) | Included | Yes, in its Patient Portal |
| Monthly price Carebit, per clinician, plus VAT: Starter £79/month (monthly only, limited to 18 bookings a month); Core £149/month, or £119/month paid yearly; Pro £269/month, or £215/month paid yearly. Every plan includes unlimited staff members, and Carebit offers volume discounts for three or more clinicians. (carebit.co/pricing, checked 23 Sep 2026) | €129 or €299, plus VAT, flat per practice, every seat included | £79–£269 + VAT per clinician |
| Irish insurer / PCRS / GMS claim submission Automated insurer and PCRS/GMS claim submission isn’t in Ask Brigid’s launch release; staff use each insurer’s normal channel. Carebit’s published insurer billing runs through Healthcode. (carebit.co, checked 23 Sep 2026) | Disabled · Not in launch | Not publicly stated |
How a move works
Three steps, and you can check each one.
- Open the sample practiceThe real app on invented patients: open a chart, dictate a line, prepare an invoice. No sign-up.
- Request early accessTwo questions; we reply by email. Founding practices get the published founding price.
- The ChangeoverYour records moved and checked by you before go-live. Export terms are published: five working days, no fee.
Switching from Carebit, the common questions
Answered from Carebit's own pages and ours.
Should a UK consultant switch from Carebit to Ask Brigid?
Usually not. Ask Brigid serves practices in Ireland, bills in euro, and does not bill any insurer through Healthcode. A UK consultant who needs Healthcode e-billing in GBP should very likely stay with Carebit.
What does Carebit do that Ask Brigid doesn’t?
Carebit’s Healthcode integration bills insurers electronically (“One-click claims”), in pounds sterling, and Carebit says it processes over £200 million a year for thousands of customers. Every Carebit plan also includes Carebit Video for remote consultations and a Patient Portal where patients book, pay and view their letters and results. Ask Brigid doesn’t connect to Healthcode or bill UK insurers, and video consultations are not in its launch release; it’s built for Irish practices billing in euro.
What does each one cost?
Carebit’s published tiers run from £79/month + VAT (Starter, limited to 18 bookings a month) to £269/month + VAT (Pro), per clinician, with 20% off Core and Pro when paid yearly. Ask Brigid is €129/month (Essential) or €299/month (Professional), plus VAT, flat, per practice.
Does Ask Brigid include dictation, like Carebit?
Ask Brigid includes consult dictation — a transcript of the consultation, returned to the patient record for the clinician to review — and, on Professional, push-to-talk dictation into any field. Carebit’s Cari records and transcribes too, and Carebit says a recorded consultation can be converted into a patient note or letter rather than left as a transcript.
Is Ask Brigid available in the UK?
No. Ask Brigid is built for Irish private practice, hosted in AWS Dublin (eu-west-1) and priced in euro. It is not a UK product.
From the notes
Read before you move.
Compare
Compare Ask Brigid with other Irish practice systems
Ask Brigid. Stay a doctor.
Open the sample practice and run a clinic day on invented patients: the chart, a dictated line, an invoice. Nothing is sent, booked or filed until you say so.
Ready to talk? Request early access or write to david@askbrigid.com.
Facts about Carebit on this page were checked on 23 September 2026 against the sources named beside them. Features and pricing change, so check the vendor’s own site before you decide. Carebit is a trademark of its respective owner.